Monday, September 29, 2008

Ryan Adams: 48 Hours

In June of 2001, just after finishing Gold, Ryan hooked back up with multi-instrumentalist/producer Ethan Johns to create the most cohesive of his 'unreleased' albums.

With the help of said Ethan Johns, as well as Chris Stills, Julianna Raye, Greg Leitz, and Sheldon Gomberg, this session is a veritable greatest-hits of his post-Gold solo work. Walls sounds like an early precursor to the sound of Jacksonville City Nights. A live staple of his solo shows, Like The Twilight (aka Drunk and Fucked Up) makes its unofficial appearance on this collection - simply gorgeous. The painful Blue was released as the b-side on the Nuclear single in September of 2002.

48 Hours
was the second step in creating the songs that would become Demolition. Hallelujah, Desire, and Chin Up, Cheer Up - arguably the best few tracks from that release - were recorded during this session in Hollywood, CA. i will do some sort of review for that album after i post the last of the unreleased sessions - The Second Pinkheart - very soon.

48 Hours
1. Hallelujah
2. Walls
3. Desire
4. Angelina
5. Like The Twilight
6. Chin Up, Cheer Up
7. Born Yesterday
8. Blue
9. One For The Rose
10. Karina (false start)
11. Karina
12. Little Moon

Check out more Ryan Adams:
show all


  1. Great collection of songs. Thanks for the headsup.

  2. Hello!! I am Italian , I feel so happy because In 2011, Adams announced a European tour, and noted that he was working on a new studio album with producer Glyn Johns., I think that Adams is one of the best singer in the world!!22dd